War memorial damage: before and after

These are both my pictures, one that I took when I arrived in Mostar in August and one that I took at the end of January.

Click on this link to read the full article, but in summation a war memorial dedicated to the fallen soldiers of the wartime Bosniak army suffered damage due to a bomb on the morning of January 14th. It’s something that I walk past every time I go to the home of a local whom I tutor, and it’s pretty sobering. On the surface level, Mostar doesn’t seem so divided. People cross the bridges everyday, school children pass without major incidents, and certainly bombs aren’t a part of daily life. So to see such visual evidence of the hatred and frustration that still runs deep throughout the city is just a reminder of why I’m here, or more importantly why UWC Mostar exists.

war memorial

Leave a Reply

