About Me

Hey there! I’m Erika Batiz, an 18 year old American living in Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina. I currently attend United World College (UWC) Mostar, an International Baccalaureate school with students from around the world.

This is a blog dedicated to recording — and sharing — my experiences. I’ll probably post mostly pictures, but also some text posts as well. Since I’m in school, I won’t be posting daily, but checking back every few days or weekly should keep you up-to-date.

My passions include photography, traveling, trying new things and meeting new people. I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, I’ve become fond of the Bosnian tradition of ‘going for coffee’ as a means of social time rather than fueling a habit, and I think each person can make a difference, even if it’s as ‘small’ as a hug and a listening ear for a person who needs it.

I’m a proud alumna of some incredible programs. I’ll list them below, and if you’re interested or have any questions, feel free to contact me! I’d strongly recommend any and all of them to high school students. They’ve been literally life-changing, inspirational, and I’ve made lasting friendships with people around the US and the world.

  • Minnesota Youth in Government (YIG) – 2009-2012
  • Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) state conference and World Leadership Congress (WLC) – 2011
  • United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) – 2012

yig hoby ussyp
[left to right: YIG, HOBY WLC, USSYP]

If you have any questions or comments about the blog, UWC, or as I said above the other programs that I was in, don’t hesitate to contact me! Just comment on a post and I’ll get back to you.

Thanks,

Erika

Leave a Reply

